3 (Leicestershire and Derbyshire Yeomanry) Company, 5th Battalion, The Royal Anglian Regiment at Loughborough with a Platoon at Melton Mowbray, re-designation of C (LDY PAO) Coy 7 R.Ang.

3 Coy in 5 RAR converted as 203 Squadron, 158 (Royal Anglian) Regiment, RLC Loughborough and Melton Mowbray, and its LDY lineage discontinued


1988 -1992
C (Leicestershire & Derbyshire PAO Yeomanry) Coy
7th (V) Royal Anglian (TA)

 Coy HQ/ 7 Platoon / Milan Platoon  8 Platoon 9 Platoon 
 Loughborough Melton Mowbray Hinkley 

"LDY" Men who considered themselves "keeper's of the tradition".

"Prince Albert's Own"

The Leicestershire & Derbyshire (P.A.O) Yeomanry's Guidon was kept at Coy HQ Loughborough in the Officers Mess.


Hon Col RP Ridley-Thompson TD DL

One of the last Commanding Officers of the LDY (PAO) as a regiment

Harry E Skelson MBE TD

Harry became Hon. Treasurer of the Association in 1947, and in 1972 he became Joint Hon Secretary and Hon Treasurer.  He received the MBE in 1983 for Services to the Association.  The photo was taken in 1995 at Rufford Abbey.


LDY Coy Dinner at Loghborough, 1991. 

[Pic Left] O/cdt Peter Reed, O/Cdt Griff Morgan-Jones, O/Cdt Paul Cox (V sign), Lt Andy Jaques,

Lt Roger Wiltshire  [Pic Right] Sgt Bob Burrows, Lt Mark Windibank.


Click on for larger image........

LDY PAO Company 1990, Champion COY of the Battalion.


"Frezenberg" 1990

Sgt. Bob Burrows, Mrs Ridley-Thompson, CSM Ted Hubbard, Hon Col R P Ridley-Thompson TD DL and Sgt V Soni


LDY Post Christmas  Clay Pigeon Shoot 1992, at Blackbrook Farm courtesy of Peter de Lisle.

Lt. Andy Jaques, O/Cdt Peter Reed, Sgt. Steve Wheatley, Stuart Williamson, CSM Simon Barnes and Lt. Dave Howe.


C (LDYPAO) Coy, 7 (V) Battalion


LDYPAO assembled for an Infantry demo at the start of exercise Lion Heart in 1984.


Coy HQ

Major. Luke-Smith TD

oc 1987-89

Captain. N Page.

Captain. Nick Page headed his troop on a Lord Major's parade in Leicester, mounted and in the full dress uniform of the Leicestershire P.A.O. Yeomanry . Having previously attended short courses (drill instruction) at the R.A.V.C in Melton Mowbray.

2Lt. P de Lisle

CSM. T Terridge


CSM. Ted (Shakey) Hubbard


CSM. "Titch" Gould


7 Platoon

7 Platoon "Rogue Troopers"

Clermont-Ferrand, France, 1993

Live firing exercises and joint forces training.


Lt. D Howe

Sgt. B Burrows

Sgt. Lowe

Cpl. Les Dale

O/Cdt. G G Morgan-Jones

Entered for the "SAUMUR Cup" Yeomanry Point-to-Point competition in Belgium (1991) and got selected, representing the "Leicestershire & Derbyshire (P.A.O) Yeomanry". Selection took place at the R.A.V.C. , Melton Mowbray. 

O/Cdt. Reid

O/Cdt. Cox

O/Cdt. Garret

O/Cdt. A Wong (ex-Nav'r F.A.A)


M-J Brothers 1990 - just before Exercise "Polar Bear".


2Lt Stanton, 7 Plt 1984, at a checkpoint in Germany on Exercise "Lion Heart".


1982, Exercise "Keystone" - Melton Mowbray Drill Hall.


Milan Platoon

Capt. R Burns

Sgt Ben Bennett


8 Platoon

(Tazman Devils)

8plt c1989

Back row:  Carter (9plt), Dave Daymond, Andy Rippin, Simon Gant, Lt. Andy Jaques, Paul Cox, Les Dale, Russ Deacon, Daryl Hazelwood, Micheal (Mac) McCann, Tony Brown, Pete Kwvietkosky.

Front row: Jed Daymond, Andy Smith, Bob Burrows (Horizintal), Clive (The Cat) Williams, Henry Pruski.


Sgt. Dave Daymond (8Plt) & Sgt Bob Burrows (7Plt), in Gibraltar.


Cpl Daymond's Sect. 8Plt LDY, Battalion inter-section competition winners c1990.

Back Row: Pvt. Stanhope, Pvt. Andy Daly, Pvt. Andrew Cobly, Pvt. Stace Burnett

Front Row: L/Cpl. Stean Roffey, Pvt. Clive Williams, Cpl. Dave Daymond, Pvt. Andy Charles.


Lt. M Windibank

Lt. A Jaques

Sgt. D Daymond

Cpl. L Dale

Pvt. S Roffee

Son of Col. Roffee, RAVC


9 Platoon

(Devil Dogs)

Lt. R Wiltshire (1)

Lt. V W Morgan-Jones (ex-QDG) (2)

Cpl. Fox

Pvt. Marc Bailey

Pvt. Mason

Pvt. Stokes

Pvt. Tuft


Ex Polar Bear, Germany 1990. 9 Platoon LDY PAO  were looking after the tanks (Chally 1).

Back Row: Lt. Vaughan Morgan-Jones, ?, Pvt. Tuft, ?, Pvt. Russ Deacon, Sgt. Short.

Front Row: ?, Pvt. Stokes,?, Cpl. Fox, Pvt. Mason, Pvt. Marc Bailey.